1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

re-gear questions for 08 Silverado

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by canislupis69, Jun 29, 2009.

1. canislupis69

canislupis69 Epic Member 5+ Years ROTM Winner 5000 Posts

Im hoping someone can give me some advice on re-gearing. I have an 08 Silverado 4x4 ext. cab with 5.3L V8. I have 7 1/2 inches of suspension lift and Im running 35 inch Toyo MT's on 20 inch rims. I have a catback flowmaster 1 in 2 out and a K&N CAI. I drove it on the highway for about a 6 hr. round trip and the transmission kept having to downshift when going up an incline. I have been considering re-gearing and have read on here to go with 4.56 gears. Does anyone know what this will do to my gas mileage and what kind of rpm's the truck will be running at highway speeds (70 to 80 mph)? Would I be better to go with 4.11's? My real concern is I do drive on the highway on small trips every now and then and do not want my engine having to run at 4000 rpms because the gears. Thanks for any help!
  2. rotaryenginepete

rotaryenginepete Rockstar ROTM Winner 100 Posts

do you have the 4 or 6spd tranny?
  3. canislupis69

Not sure...I will have to call chevy with my vin.
  4. canislupis69

I just checked with the dealer...it is a 4 speed transmission.
  5. Ghostwhite

Ghostwhite New Member

Did you get any new info and make a decision? If you did what did you go with?
  6. grimreapersshadow

grimreapersshadow Rockstar 100 Posts