1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Strange starting/rough running issue - '96 5.7L

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by Soundside, Jun 16, 2012.

1. Soundside

Soundside New Member

Hi all,
    I'm a newb, appreciate any help. Been fighting a problem for a long time in my 96 Yukon 5.7, 2WD. It has about 180k miles.

The only mod I've done to the truck is the installation of an injector spider upgrade to the Auto Shop independent injectors (which I highly recommend). I did this mod in part because of the problems that I'm having, in hopes it might correct some issues. It definitely helped, but did not solve everything. I also have an all-aluminum high capacity radiator (replaced this after some heating issues that finally took out the old radiator).

Over a year ago I started blowing up starters - the engine would kick back so hard during starting, it just blew the starter head up. The timing was going way retarded, creating a kick-back. After much frustration (2 or three starters, new flywheel, crank sensor, distributor, etc.), the problem was found to be that the crank damper key had sheared, and the hub had turned about 90 degrees on the crank snout (I now wonder whether the broken key might not have been the cause, but was instead caused by some deeper issue).

After fixing the crank hub problem, the engine did start and run okay. Sometime after that, I started noticing sort of rough performance, sputtering, etc., and that's when I broke down and put in the injectors. The fuel pump and filter are also less than a year old.