Sylvania Silverstar Bulbs

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Accessories' started by BowTieFan1, Nov 6, 2011.

1. BowTieFan1

BowTieFan1 Member

I would like to know your experience with the Sylvania Silverstar bulbs. I was comparing the packages of the Silverstars and the standard Sylvania bulbs, and they both have the same wattage. If you look on the package you can see this. So, how can the Silverstars be brighter? I do not see any difference`s between the bulbs either.

As a Electrician, my logic tells me that bulbs of the same type and wattage put out the same lumens. (brightness) Only when the wattage of the bulb increases can you get a brighter bulb. The color spectrum does not change the lumens either. It just may appear brighter.

I passed on the Silverstars and bought the standard Sylvania`s.

2. bby366

bby366 Member

I installed low beams,love'm.

3. Schaub

Schaub Rockstar

Buy a set of Xentec HID's for less than the silverstars and have waaaay better performance.

4. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 5000 Posts

There are a new Ultra bulb from them I think they are called the ZXE's I have them in mine now very nice.. [​IMG]

5. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

As brightness is a visual thing, if it -appears- brighter to someone ... then for them, it is. You must understand that perception of brightness and measured brightness are two distinctly different things and what's key to this difference is context. Silverstars use a coating that changes the colour temperature of the light ... which, in turn, changes the light's effect within the context of what's being viewed. Whether or not it's effective for you really depends on how you perceive things...