TBI to TPI swap ?

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by 2loud, Dec 10, 2008.

1. 2loud

2loud Rockstar 100 Posts

Hi has search around but cant find what il need .. il got an old burb its a K model 1995 w 350 . now im gonna swap to an 383 engine and plans to rebuild the engine with an TPI system instaed of the TBI

what problems does i need to solv ? the biggest problem is to control the trans otherwise il could have used "whatever" ecm to an stock TPI engine and yust remapped my prom .. anybody got knowledge of this or have some nice links that guide me thrue it ?

2. ct9a

ct9a Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Sorry, I have no experience with this, but am interested in this as well. Please keep this post updated with what you find and if you decide to take on the project or not.

3. 2loud

2loud Rockstar 100 Posts

i AM gonne do this . i have already orderd the engine at www.golenenginservice.com and i have asked for higher combustion (read E-85) and becuse this is a low budget project ( this engine is build by left owers from my other engines ) i get that higher combustion by work on the cylinderheads ,, and that means that only the intake as chad adjust to this engine will match il will use an baseplate from tpis called Big mounth ,, and yust
    becuse it isent a easy way to adjust another intake for this engine in a regular garage gives me no "cheating" options *lol*

4. ct9a

Nice, good luck with the swap. If you can, do a write up on it. I'd love to be able to use it when I get to that point with mine.

BTW, what's the benefits of this vs. the MPI swap kits they sell?

5. 2loud

2loud Rockstar 100 Posts

He he the mostly benefit is that i already got this stuff on the shelf and you vcant even imagen what i kit like this cost here in sweden