1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

Torsion keys

Discussion in 'Lifted & Offroad Suspension' started by fala21, Feb 3, 2011.

1. fala21

fala21 New Member

I am looking to throw some lift blocks in my 99 4wd silverado and some torsion keys up front. The blocks i have no problem replacing, its the torsion keys i have never done before. Some people say i need a tool to remove them which i called autozone and a few mechanics and they had no idea what i was talking about. i am just looking for some help on removing the keys. Can i do it with a regular breaker bar and socket? or is there actually a tool to remove them? Any help is appreciated, thanks guys!

2. IPFK83

IPFK83 Rockstar 3 Years 100 Posts

The torsion keys are not hard to replace but they can be very dangerous to remove if you don't know what your doing a couple things you need to do index the torsion bar in the lower a-arm and on the key side so when pull the old one make sure the new one goes in the same way also you need to measure theadjustment bolt to make sure you don't over tighten the bolt when reinstalling. To remove the torsion bars you need to pull the adjustment bolt all the way out. Then you need the removal tool to compress the the torsion bar and remove the key block. Here is a link to the removal tool you need http://store.newlevelmotorsports.com/gmtobarunto.html

Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  3. fala21

fala21 New Member

looks just like a c-clamp

4. IPFK83

IPFK83 Rockstar 3 Years 100 Posts

Yeah but these are much beefier than a c-clamp

5. fala21

fala21 New Member