Towing cross country...got a couple ?s

Discussion in 'Towing & Trailer Tech' started by HIV2500, Aug 3, 2012.

Random Gallery Photos

1. HIV2500

HIV2500 New Member

Hey everybody!
    This is my first post on the site here, so I'm hoping I get some helpful responses! I have a beautiful '87 gmc v1500 full size burby. On September 1st I plan to move cross country-Seattle, wa area to southwest NewHampshire. As is my truck is full stock, no lift, or other mods. I plan to fill her up completely with boxes and the such...pretty normal household stuff. The heaviest item being loaded is my snap on kra bottom box (around 400lbs). As well as the truck being packed full I will also be towing my 1994 Acura integra on a car dolly trailer. The integra will be loaded with boxes containing light items, you know clothes and the like. My truck just had its 100,000th mile! Runs super solid, strong, reliable. I have never done this lengthy of a drive before, let alone hauling a full load. Just looking for any advice from all of you experienced towers. Do I need to install a trans temp gauge? If so,should I do inline, or in the pan? How about an aftermarket trans cooler, or is the stock radiator trans cooler efficient enough? Oh, nearly forgot the basics... She's a throttle body injected 350 3speed auto with shift kit.
    Thanks in advance for any advice/insights.
  2. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Moderator 1000 Posts 100 Posts

Wow Long move..If you come to the NNJ/NY area before NH let me know.. Anyway I would just take it slow and easy. you should be fine, Also be very careful on the Big Mt hills. You say you do have a Trans cooler? Good, A gauge for the Trans Temp would also be good to get..

Welcome to the site...
  3. Crawdaddy

Crawdaddy Moderator Staff Member Platinum Contributor 1000 Posts 100 Posts