1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Tranny Help!!!

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by DocKingCobra81, Sep 17, 2013.

1. DocKingCobra81

DocKingCobra81 New Member

Hello guys! I'm new to this so bare with me. I have a 1996 K1500, six inch lift, 35 in. tires, stock motor (rebuilt), aftermarket shocks, push button 4WD, anti-roll bars. My question is how do I stop the Transmission from being chewed up? I've had it rebuilt different times over a three year period, and I believe that it's just the stock 4L60, with stock gears. Would changing the gears help? Thanks.
    :no:
  2. tbplus10

tbplus10 Super Moderator Staff Member Platinum Contributor 1000 Posts 100 Posts

What gear ratio are you running in the axles?
    Has the same shop completed the rebuild each time?
    It could possibly be the gear ratio, or it could be inferior parts used in the rebuild.
    Have you ever thought of a transmission swap to a 4L80?
    It might cost a little more than a rebuild but if it lasts longer than what your getting out of your present trans its money well spent.
    How do you drive the truck, is it hot rodded and off roaded a lot?
  3. DocKingCobra81

The truck is using stock gears. They are either 3.08 or 3.73. The same shop rebuilt it every time. They did use Heavy Duty parts. I haven't thought of a swap to a 4L80. What does that come out of? I drive it on a daily basis, so I baby it. I am not into four wheeling. Mostly b/c I don't have the money to spend replacing parts all the time. Thanks to getting back to me so soon!
    :great:
  4. Pikey