1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

Transmission temperature

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by TDCulbyy763, Feb 24, 2014.

Newest Gallery Photos

1. TDCulbyy763

TDCulbyy763 New Member

Hey everyone, I'm new to this whole thing and I just need some help on figuring out the normal trans temp on my 2008 silverado 1500. I've noticed lately that it'll warm up to about 200°F, is that normal? What happens if it gets even hotter? I bought it used about 8 months ago so I want to make sure my unicorn is always satisfied!

2. poncho62

poncho62 Member 1 Year 100 Posts

Right now (winter), it depends where you live. I take it you are in a warm climate. Here, it has been a cold winter, mine hasn't gotten above 125-150 all winter

3. ajarman

ajarman Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

My '08 with 33's, 3k stall and tru kool 40k sits about 80° above ambient. If you are seeing 200° without ragging on the truck something is wrong.

4. TDCulbyy763

TDCulbyy763 New Member

Where should I take it to be looked at?

5. Conlan Rose

Conlan Rose Active Member 2 Years 1000 Posts

The tranny may just need a fluid change to fix the issue. As the fluid ages it loses efficiency causing more friction and more heat. Just replacing the fluid and filter may be enough to fix the issue.

6. TDCulbyy763

TDCulbyy763 New Member

Thank you so much for your help y all

7. ajarman

ajarman Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts