Upgrading headers: questions about O2 sensors and running rich/lean

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by corland, Dec 31, 2012.

Random Gallery Photos

1. corland

corland New Member

Merry Christmas-

Christmas was good this year, I have a 2000 k2500 crew-short with the 5.7 in it. My wonderful wife said I could fix it up. It is cosmetically a 10, and the engine runs great. I bought a flowmaster exhaust, edge programmer, and flowtec shorty headers to put on. My question is: The truck is going in to the shop to have the headers put on in a few weeks. I will also have them run the exhaust to the muffler, getting rid of the cats. I have been told the O2 sensors are a problem. I have a K&N cold air intake, and the Mass Airflow Sensor is gone because of this. Wont my truck run too rich, and wont I need my programmer to alter the computer for this? You might wonder why I am doing this if the truck runs good. Well I am new to horsepower. I want to use this truck as my snowplow truck/hunting truck. Plus Noone has one in town. Any help with this truck in general is greatly appreciated.

Happy Holidays
  2. silverhobey

silverhobey New Member 100 Posts

welcome to the site....sorry I don't have any knowledge on the O2 sensors,
    but I am sure you will get the info you need on this site.....Brian from Canada
  3. Conlan Rose

Conlan Rose Super Moderator 1000 Posts 100 Posts

:sign0016:to the GMTC. You should post your ideas in a tech forum it will help you get insight.