1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

What kind of oil?

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by Curky, Jun 2, 2012.

1. Curky

Curky Active Member 2 Years 1000 Posts

I’m sure this question has been asked and asked again. For you guys that know me, you know I’m pretty new to trucks. In all my cars I have used different oil depending on what I was driving and if I was leasing or not. I have 08 WT, V6. It is an everyday driver minimum 40miles a day.:gasp: I am at 38,000 miles. With all that said:
    What oil should I use? (Brand and synthetic or what)

2. rileyjr16

rileyjr16 Rockstar 3 Years 1000 Posts

Can't go wrong with a good synthetic such as Mobil 1 or Castroil. As for weight, check your owners manual as it should be in there. If not, I always put 10W-30 in my V6 but it was from a totally different decade :lol:

1 person likes this.
  3. BASSIST

BASSIST Rockstar 100 Posts

I use Valvoline 5w30

1 person likes this.
  4. ntbush83

ntbush83 Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

If I had unlimited moneys I'd always run royal purple but every other oil change I take it in to get a full service and everything checked out and they use penzoil synthetic so thats what I've been using!

1 person likes this.
  5. KyleZ71

KyleZ71 Rockstar 4 Years 500 Posts ROTM Winner

I used penzoil platinum, royal purple, valvoline synpower, and mobile 1 full synthetic. I like mobile 1 for the price (good quality) but the best performance and mileage I had was with royal purple.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  6. Curky