1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Why is the US auto industry trending to the boring?

Discussion in 'The Coffee Shop ~ Chit Chat' started by McClintoc, Jan 29, 2014.

1. McClintoc

McClintoc ɹoʇɐɹǝpoɯ Staff Member 2 Years 1000 Posts Platinum Contributor

Primarily, why are US auto makers not putting manual transmissions in their cars any more? They are out there but hard to find - at least, exactly how I want them.

I am looking to buy my first car later this year. I have been driving the same pick-up truck for 13 years now. It's paid off and still runs great so I plan to keep it and buy a new, second car. Since I have a truck, I am looking for a "sporty car"; either a 4-door sedan or a 2-door coupe.

"Sporty" to me is: a manual transmission, rear or all-wheel drive, and at least 350 HP. The car I really want is a Cadillac CTS-V but I can't afford one of those. Certainly not new but probably not even a pre-owned. In terms of affordability, some of the cars I had been looking at are as follows:

Chevy SS (this one fit my cirteria the best but upon release Chevy said no manual)
    Ford Taurus SHO (another that fit my criteria well but again, no stick)
    Cadillac CTS-Vsport (in terms of wanting a CTS-V, this is a great alternative except the turbo V-6 will only come with an 8-speed auto...what a waste)
    Cadillac ATS coupe (less than 300 HP but I like a lot of its features. This does come with a stick but only on the turbo 4, no the V-6 and I don't really want a 4cyl)