1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

wiring in fog lights????

Discussion in 'Chevy Tahoe Forum (GMC Yukon, Cadillac Escalade)' started by twiggy, May 16, 2009.

1. twiggy

twiggy Member

I've got two fog light's mounted on my grill gaurd. i'm not that good with electricity so this might be a stupid question, but anyway i've got them wired together and then to the bright light on my left headlight. and i've got a 15amp fuse between the bright lights on the truck and the fog lights. everytime i put in a fuse, it just blows after a couple minutes of running them. Is the fuse just to small? Am i doing something wrong? should i wire one fog light to the right side and one to the left? any help would be greatley appreciated!!

Thanks in advance
    -Jason

Attached Files:

2. Springthing

Springthing Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

What is the wattage on the fog lights?
  3. Springthing

Here is the basic formula to figure out how many amps you are pulling:

Watts/Volts = Amps

So if you have 55w fog lights it would be:

110w / 12v = 9.16 or 10amp

I would advise you, at the VERY least, split the two fog lights to the two high beams. The thing is that you're still using the same amount of power from the headlight system.

The TRUE way to hook up what you are trying to do is with the use of a relay. A relay is a low-powered *switch*, in essence. It is used to provide high-powered accessories power by using a low-power system to activate it --- if that makes any sense to you!