GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to install a K&N air kit. http://www.knfilters.com/search/product.aspx?Prod=57-3023-1
I'm not a mechanic but can do minor changes on vehicles. The instructions on the K&N site for this air kit seem thorough but I wanted to ask if anyone else has installed it or similar and could warn me of something not noted in the instructions. I also want to know if this will mess up the o2 readings and require my chip/sensor reprogrammed.

This is my first post here so be easy on me? Thanks

·
Registered
2,966 Posts
Hey Matt, welcome. Don't be silly thats a perfectly good question. I have read some documents that warns against using them but I'm not sure of the validity of them. Just saying that some dealers want honour warranty due to residue build up from oiling filter. You could research that. But I'm sure tons of people have done it and had no problems.
I just use Fram myself, but good luck. Maybe someone else will have something to add.

·
Super Moderator
6,542 Posts
That instruction sheet is right on. Shouldnt be a hard project for a non-mechanic to put the new intake on the truck.

Have you looked at drop-in dry flow filters?

The reason I ask is the stats for drop-in cartridges are about the same as the FIPK. But they cost less and are a direct filter swap. With a dry flow filter you dont have oiling issues that seem to plague most people after this change. And as was discussed a few days ago on another thread most aftermarket intakes draw air from under the hood, drawing in heated air, while this might be great in cold weather, in warm weather areas this isnt so good, colder air ='s more HP and better mileage. The factory airbox already draws air from outside of the engine compartment.
Just some thoughts for ya.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4