GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right now im livin the dream playin in the sandbox (iraq) lol and Im lookin to add some performance mods to the truck when i get home. But im new to the 5.3. So im looking to see what kind of mods yall have done that would give me good gains in HP and TQ?

I already have a K&N Intake. ( I plan on adding duals, would the true duals gain more power?)

Here are some mods I have been looking into, but arnt sure if they will give me good gains?

Hypertech Programer
All new Exhaust System (headers back)
High Performance Plugs/wires

So please feel free to leave me some advice on the items listed above and also give me any new advice on other items or specific items that can help me with good gains!:fighting0072:

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Sounds like you've got some great ideas already! Another idea is an aftermarket MAF sensor. I've heard of people getting some noticeable gains from those, and some added MPG.

So far, I've also got a K&N on my 5.3 and plan some similar mods that you listed. I'm also planning on switching over to synthetic oil soon. I don't really expect anything as far as hp or torque gains, but I've heard it makes the engine run alot better. Some of the other guys will surely have more ideas as well!

Thank you so much for your service and God bless!!!!

·
Premium Member
7,518 Posts
Sounds like you have the same list that most of us have considered. To go much further I'd mention the remote mounted turbo charger (mounts in the exhaust system, under the truck). Thanks for your service and get home ASAP!

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
where can i find this remote mounted turbo charger?

·
Premium Member
7,518 Posts
This question came up a couple of days ago and the mfg. is: SQUIRES, I think. Here is a quote from that original post: