GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting clouds of smoke following me on the freeway.

Not a lot of power, I need to stand on the accellerator to get it up to freeways speed.

Not a lot of smoke once it gets going, but a lot when I hit the accellerator.

Smoke is kinda dark brown, not black. Thin, but very noticable. Is there anything I should be looking at before I attack the heads/gaskets/piston rings ?

·
Registered
2,630 Posts
I'm no expert on diesel, but I'm sure our resident experts would appreciate a little more info. Like year, and mileage of your 6.2.

There may be some TSB's out there that they can help you with, but without knowing where to look.......well you get the idea. :)

·
Registered
407 Posts
Past experence has been to check air filter first, and I am just a old marine diesel mechanic.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It is an '82 K10 Suburban ... I am not the first owner, so I have no clue how long ago the last rebuild was.

The air filter looks OK, although there are some soot stains inside the filter.

I ordered a diesel grade compression tester, and a glowplug hole adapter for it.

Could this be an injector pump or fuel filter issue? How would I tell?

·
Premium Member
6,542 Posts
Could be an injector pump issue. Probably not a fuel filter issue.
Older G.M. injector pumps had issues at times. The pumps were adjustable, and they often got misadjusted. Turning them up was a trick used to get more fuel pressure, but if you turned them up to far you got results similar to what your describing.
Do you have an EGT gauge? If so whats it reading when you stand on the accelerator?
Some soot in the air filter is normal. Large amounts indicate a problem (unless the filter hasent been changed in a long time).
Read the compression first, then read the EGT.
Have you checked the oil level lately? Is it burning more?
Does it have a good idle?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6