GM Truck Club Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 97 Suburban LT is close to being sent to the scrap heap. I've been running a long thread on another A/C specific forum, but after replacing nearly the entire A/C system, piece by piece, I'm stuck with 70+degree air coming from the front vents. Rather than post the entire thing again here, I ask that someone take a look briefly at what I've done already and posted on the acsource.net forum.

http://www.acsource.net/acforum/viewtopic.php?t=4517

A short synopsis reads:
I've replaced:
Compressor, (three times, two defective replacements)
Pressure and vacuum hoses attached to same.
Condenser
Orifice Tube
Accumulator (twice since I had the system open so many times)
front evaporator (ruined when not able to remove accumulator)
Rear TXV valve
And yes, I have some familiarity with A/C systems although I'm not an expert. I vacuumed the system each time, and carefully measured oil when replacing the compressor and accumulator.

Have 56oz refrigerant in system and 50psi/250psi at 87 ambient idling with fans on condenser and 40/200 driving at 45mph. Lowest front vent temp is 70deg.

·
Registered
7 Posts
the compressors that you are buying,are they remanufactured? or is brand New?iv got 98 tahoe thats got a clogg in the ac lines and i gotta find it and then i got to replace a stupid hose thats connected to the ac system,but on my 97 cad.seville i went thru 2 ac compressors till the 2nd one worked.they were remanufactured,so i wonder if they are not as good as a new one?well i hope this helps.:neutral:

·
Registered
112 Posts
Kyle.....I think you may have a couple of things that you hit on....1- if the compressor came apart, you may have a blockage, frank....have you replace the filter, in the a/c line. You may have to blow out or replace the front a/c line . You might have pushed it into the Evap?