GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
561 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, i am new to newer chevys so please do not beat me too much. i searched and found no matches so i ask here.
i got a 1993 K1500 4x4 with the 350/auto air front rear.
the ac worked fine the 1st 2 months of owning it. we made no ac or heat changes (minus the recycle door motor -see other post) well now if i put the ac to cold and hit the ac button the compressor will not cycle. i put a volt meter on the electric clutch connector and it never get a signal ( i planned on making a jumper to see if it engages but ran out of time today) the climate information box shows the ac liteup but it never cycles the compressor. i unplugged the other plug on the compressor and it looked ok and i unplugged the dryer sensor and it looked ok. i not sure where to go next it is warming up and i need to get this fixed for the wife so i can get ready for the next project a lift kit.....mike

·
Registered
2,630 Posts
Sounds like you might have a leak. There is a pressure switch. If your pressure is not high enough the switch disengages, and will not allow the pump to operate.
DON'T jumper the connection, forcing the compressor to run. If it's run while it's low on freon, it can ruin the compressor. The freon has oil in it to keep the pistons, and o-rings lubed as the compressor runs.

This may be a good time to take advantage of the fact that it needs to be serviced, and have it converted from R12 to R-134.

·
Super Moderator
3,369 Posts