GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie, I spent 15 years as a mechanic at a Chevrolet dealer, performing misc elec, HVAC, Trim, windnoise and waterleak repairs. I replaced the headlight bulbs in my daughters 2003 Trailblazer with a set of the 8500k Xenon bulbs that sell on ebay. The first set lasted about 6 months until one burnt out. The wiring at the back of the connector turned brown, I did'nt think anything of it. However about 2 weeks ago I replaced them both and in 2 weeks both the bulbs and the connectors have melted. I replaced the connectors tonight at 13.00 each. My daughter likes these bulbs but I cant think of anything that I can do to use the bulb she wants. I have these bulbs in my car and in my wifes van and both of them work fine. I came to the conclusion that the only difference is my daughter's truck has Daytime Running Lights. I don't think these bulbs can stay on all the time without burning something up. I need to devise some way to use these bulbs without burning bulbs and harness's up. The only thing I can think of is to either disable the DRL's or devise some type of heatsink for the bulbs and wiring. Does anybody have any ideas other than going back to OEM or GE Sylvania's super bulbs ?

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
Welcome to the site! Glad to have more skilled folks joing up with other skilled folks!

What we're talking about is electricity through a circuit. I wouldnb't think that it matters much that it's a bulb. If it's melting the connectors, then there is a weak wire in the mix that can't handle that much current. Isn't that right? Maybe someone else knows more about this issue.

What are the specs for the lamps for current? How many watts/amps, etc?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3