GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A newbie here.. just registered.. I'm trying to swap my engine on 97 suburban 1500 4x4.. with 5.7 engine.. Can anyone advise me on the possible other engine that would fit in my sub..?? considering all the tranny.. torq converter.. etc.. are there any possibilities..?? or does it have to be a 5.7..?? I did find a resonably priced 5.0 with tranny... but will it fit my sub..?? your espertise advise will be appreciated. For a newbie, I bring a big tech question.. huh..??. thanks..jc.:neutral:

·
Premium Member
1,101 Posts
If the 5.0 you are looking at is a 96-99 chevy truck motor, it should work fine, but it will be under powered for your Suburban. You will probably need the computer from the 5.0, but I'm not sure about that. Someone else will chime in I'm sure. There are plenty of the 96-99 Chevy truck 5.7's in wrecking yards, so you shouldn't have a problem finding one of those.

·
Registered
2,805 Posts
Yea I'd have to agree with gary... those 5.0's were underpowered and it will be worse for a suburban... try to find a 5.7 in the junkyard.. or if you really want to I know GM makes that same 5.7 sold as a crate motor for about 1800 bucks (200 horse 300 torque). but than again its 1800 and youll pay much less in the junkyard

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)