GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I Bought A Cut-Out From My Friend And well Im A Noob When It Comes To These Things, So i Was Wondering if Should Get It Done. I Have A 01 Silverado With A Single Chamber Cherry Bomb Muffler And I Got The Y-Pipe Set Up. If I Get The Cut-Out Done Will I Loose The Way The Muffler Sounds With It Open?

·
Premium Member
1,625 Posts
If you put a cutout in the exhaust system it dumps the exhaust at the cut out, you will have open exhaust in other words. No muffler, no tail pipe no nothing beyond the cut out.

Also not sure about the legality in your state. You don’t mention it.

Exhaust cut outs are made for racers who want unrestricted exhaust for racing.

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
The legality of it is my concern too. I had glass packs on my '62 so I didn't worry about it too much, loved that sound. :)

·
Super Moderator
6,542 Posts
Exhaust cut-outs serve a purpose for vehicles driven on the track, but on a street driven vehicle it's useless unless your trying to attract attention, which will usually be the wrong kind.

Most modern internal combustion engines require some backpressure in the exhaust (actually they require scavenging of the cylinders during the exhaust stroke which is a product of backpressure). By using an exhaust cut-out your reducing the backpressure thus reducing the engines scavenging abillity and making it less efficient (horsepower and mpg). The cylinder will retain some of the burnt gasses and not get a full clean fill on the intake stroke. At high rpms the engine managing system will only allow the engine to go to a set max rpm, so you'll gain very little if nothing there.