GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a new member with a 98 Suburban with 151715 miles. I am looking for a way to improve my gas mileage. Thanks KennyG

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a 5.7 V-8, auto, 1500. It has been our family vehicle, but now I use it for my work truck. I am a plumbing contractor

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
What type of mileage are you currently getting? You say that you've got 150k on in, any work done to it? Noticing any problems with it?

G

·
0 Posts
What kind of money are you looking to spend to get better mileage? Or are you looking for freebie mods?

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
Yeah, stay away from the stuff that is gimmicky. In truth, the execs at GM would give away the farm if someone could improve gas mileage by 5%.

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
I know that some vehicles, like the Trailblazer for example, seem to have a govenor that controls gas on jackrabbit starts. My TB has 275 hp I6, but I can't catch any rubber. They must be controlling fuel electronically to keep it from getting horrible MPG ratings.

G

·
0 Posts
probably. Get yourself a super chip, and you'll probably see some more HP, but less MPG.
It's all about what's more important to you.

G

·
0 Posts
I actually considered selling my 'burban the other day. :shock: because of these prices. Then I came to my senses, and decided to just get a little junk heap, that passes the state inspection instead.

Those moments of insanity are scary when when you come around and realize what you almost did.

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
:shock:

Well, that's ok. It's a time of crisis.

I drive my wife's little Chevy Cavaliar to work most days. She keeps the Trailblazer at home so she can run the little rug-rat around town if she needs to. I get about 33 MPG in the Cavaliar and like about 18 MPG in the Trailblazer.

·
Registered
4 Posts