GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Administrator
4,886 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious what range of skill levels we have here for people who work on their own vehicles.

·
Premium Member
1,625 Posts
Everything but trany work is done by me.

Trany work I send to a friend and that’s all he does.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Frustrated

I am a very frustrated machinist/mechanic, and obsessive tinkerer. I used to be refered to as the high tech driveway mechanic. :rofl:

My health has gone south on me such that I do well to sit in a vehicle and do "Toothpick-Detailing" (Damp cloth and toothpick in all the little crevices within reach) But seriously, while I cannot crawl around under the car anymore, I do get very involved as to what the guy I pay is doing, and why he is doing what he is doing. I pay attention to the appearence of things under the hood, and keep detailed spread sheets of all preventive and unscheduled maintainence. Even though I can no longer get my hands dirty, I can still be an involved owner. I enjoy pride of ownership in the Nox, and the "Little Saturn"

Respectfully,
BINGO53 :great:

·
Registered
2,966 Posts
I'm not much of a tranny guy either (I've done a th350 shift kit) I suck at body work. I also am a big goopy welder LOL. Never learned enough about A/C systems either. Other than that I'll try anything.

The newer vehicles get, the more frightened I get. So many sensor and junk to mess up. You have to take 10 or more parts off just to get at the one you need to work on.

·
1,457 Posts
I do everything myself
I use to be a certified mechanic, I worked in a garage for 15 years .
Now I only work on my car and the wife’s car . :glasses:

·
Registered
52 Posts
I start a lot of repairs:sarcastic: :sarcastic:

my mechanic tow's it over and finishes em

·
Registered
52 Posts