GM Truck Club Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie, I want to ask you guys something.

I want to buy a Classic Suburban ('77 - '82).
Not younger then '82, because in The Netherlands you don't pay tax for cars older than 25yrs! But that should I buy? 350, 454 or 6.2 diesel?
The 6.2 seems tempting, because of the fuel price (1.05 euro/liter) and economy, but is it any good? I want to drive it daily and I don't want to spend all my free time to keep my car running ;-) An other option is driving on (natural) gas (0.48 euro/liter) (don´t know what you call it, here it´s LPG, in france GPL).

Could you guys put some light on this, would be very nice! :great:

Greetz, Terp

·
Premium Member
1,625 Posts
Good luck finding part for something that old.

The diesel I know very little about except the first GM diesels were reworked gasoline engines and not very dependable. We had one in an 81 Impala and every time something went wrong it was very costly to have repaired, so unless you can do diesel engine work yourself I would stay away form them.

A lot of the local gas companies, natural gas companies convert to that LP gas because it cost them nothing to run them, the fuel is free. I have been told the conversion is not that hard or expensive but I have never done one so I will let those here who have try to help you.

There are a lot of Internet sites with the process but for the life of me I don’t know where.

Good luck.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok, thx.
Conversion is not the problem, there are kits sold (in Holland) for it, special for big americans :glasses:
I want to know about reliability and durability and cost of repears and so on..

greetz, Terp

·
Premium Member
4,888 Posts
ok, thx.
Conversion is not the problem, there are kits sold (in Holland) for it, special for big americans :glasses:
I want to know about reliability and durability and cost of repears and so on..

greetz, Terp