GM Truck Club Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my 88 chevy suburban R10 4x4 with the 5.7 litre chevy 350 tbi motor. I have a flowmaster 40 series that i plan on getting a local austin shop to weld on, infront of the drivers side rear tire. I was wondering if anyone here had experience with the Tbi motor, and what should be my next upgrade? The truck has mickey thompson 32's on it now, and I am wanting to build a mud truck,with eventually a lift kit. I am looking for any suggestions where i can start on a budget. I was thinking heads intake manifold and cam to start. I have never had a Tbi motor, mostly carb motors, and am open to advice or suggestions.

·
Registered
7,291 Posts
Welcome to the club. Edelbrock makes a PowerPackage for your truck. It's avaible in several stages, intake,cam,heads, headers and exhaust. Check out there website.

·
Registered
8,623 Posts
Welcome to the club Phil. I went with the GM L-31 Vortec cast iron heads on my '88 5.7. They're cheap & a good place to start. Edelbrock makes a good dual purpose cam EDL-2102, it's 204 degrees duration on the intake, 214 on the exhaust, intake lift .420", exhaust lift .442"
For serious HP for offroading/mudding you may want to go with smth a little wilder, but then you'll also want to dump the TBI & change over to a carb & different distributor if you're looking for a lot more power.

·
Registered
275 Posts
So you're looking to build up a motor to push some big tires, and have power to go wheeling in the mud?