GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I will do my best to keep this short and to the point. I have a 93 chevy truck w/5.7L V8 with about 306k miles. about 6 months ago I replaced the intake gasket because I notice some steam and water bubbling out of a pin hole up by the pass valve cover. All went well except when I pulled the intake off, a large glob of hardened congealed oil fell out from under the driver side head. I cleaned and vacuumed as much as I could. I did a "pretty" good job of maintaining the gasket shavings but in hind-sight I should have placed a towel or something in the valley (I'm not a mechanic), and I found that the port for the EGR valve was completely clogged so I cleaned it out.
I put everything back together and put all fresh oil and filter back in/on. Next day driving to work the SEL comes on. After a few miles I finally noticed that the oil pressure gauge was down around 30 psi and slightly fluctuating. Throw it in neutral and rev it and the psi climbs a bit but less and less the more I drive it. I park it at work, come back out an hour later and crank it and the light is off and the pressure is back up to about 55. Drive it home that afternoon and same thing, SEL back on and PSI starts to drive, same symptoms as an old engine with worn bearings, right? Ok, so here is the monkey wrench with that conclusion, the my motor has ALWAYS had good oil pressure (not great) but typically between 40-50 psi. So what I figure is that some of that junk made its way down and clogged the oil galleries... or something. My thought is that the oil is pumping to the top of the motor but not making it back down.