GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Super Moderator
3,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '91 Sub with no roof rack. I would like to put a safari/tall style roof rack on the truck and then line the edges of it with off-road lights. Anyone have a suggestion as to what rack I should buy? Also, I have no clue where I would run the wiring for the off-road lights into the cab. I've never done off-road lights before, so I have no clue how I should run the power for the lights. Any insight as to how to get the wriing in the truck with the minimal chance of water leaks would be most appreciated.

·
Premium Member
4,886 Posts
Yeah, I think the look of a nice light bar or roof-mounted lights looks great on the suburban! Where to go and what to get depends a lot on what you're looking to have when you're done.

Do you want something where the lights are in a fixed position with an extra switch on your dash for your lights? How many lights are you looking for? How big?

Getting power to them isn't that tough if you're using a light bar. You run the wires through the light bar and bolt that to your roof. You'll need to get the wires to some power, you you should do it right becuase you'll have a good amount of current going there. I've done this project a few times and I always seem to go back to KC lights with a lightbar designed by them. You can get them at most 4x4 shops, etc.

I actually have the oppty to talk with some of these distributors to get some discounts to members on this site. I'm really trying to get some deals worked out. Hopefully I can do that soon.

·
Super Moderator
3,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #3