GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking into a 2014-18 silverado and am pricing out some upgrades I will want to do to the truck soon after getting it. What I want is a crew cab standard bed or short bed 4wd 5.3l. Here are a couple questions. Just answer what you can or if you have other recommendations. Thanks!

1. MBRP Black Series catback exhaust. I like this because it is black and I have heard good things about MBRP. Right now I have a flowmaster super 44 dual exit muffler on my 06 5.3. I dont like the drone on the highway. How do the MBRP systems do with drone? Do they sound good. Not really looking for huge performance gains, just sound. Any other exhaust suggestions? I’m wanting louder than stock, but not too loud like my current setup. I only want to really hear it when I get on the gas, startup, acceleration, and a better idling sound.

2. AFM disabler. I haven’t read much about this. Is it worth it? How does MPG react?

3. Motofab 2.5” front leveling kit. I want to probably do the leveling kit and the upgraded motofab control arms at the same time. Is the round spacer that goes on top of the strut better than the U shaped block one that goes on the bottom? They are both 2.5”. Not sure if one is better.

4. Motofab 2” rear lift blocks. I am doing 2.5” in the front and 2” in the back to maintain some of the factory rake since I tow regularly.

5. Motofab rear shock extensions. I know that its probably better to replace the shocks, but these seem like they will work until the shocks need replaced. Thoughts?

6. Tow mirrors. I know there is a thread on one of these forums that details tow mirrors on a 1500 and how to wire, etc. I am just looking for brand recommendations. I want the factory look ones, but want to stay in the $200 range. Any recommendations for an amazon/ebay one that you have had good luck with?

Thanks for reading and thanks for your suggestions.

·
Registered
3 Posts