GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wanting to level my truck, but I'm new to the mod tuff. Would you suggest 1.5 or 2" level kit? Which will look good and be better for the back end? Also, have the stock 17" wheels. Will they look ok with the lift? What wheels/tires would you suggest? I don't do a lot of off/road driving, just the occasional dirt road to my parents. Thanks for the suggestions!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Go for the 2" leveling kit, that way you can always go bigger in tire & rim size down the road if ya like. Check Ajarman's truck, he had a 2.25" ReadyLift leveling kit with the stock 17's and they looked fine with the bigger tires. As far as wheels & tires go, it's pretty much whatever you think looks best, but some of my favorites are:

Pro Comp

http://www.procompusa.com/productlines.aspx?catID=11&subCat=210&ptID=100073

Mickey Thompson

http://www.mickeythompsontires.com/truck.php

Dick Cepek

http://www.dickcepek.com/

and XD wheels

http://www.kmcwheels.com/wheels/?siteid=3&groupid=36

As for tires, I have the BFG All Terrain T/A KO's and they're great. Great traction on and off road, good tread life, quiet on the highway and they look good. Other tires to consider would be the BFG Mud Terrain KM2's, Nitto Trail Grapplers, Nitto Terra Grapplers, Goodyear Wrangler MTR, and Toyo Open Country M/T.

·
Registered
7,291 Posts
X2, go with the 2" leveling kit.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
Here are a few different pics so you can get a better idea.

This the ReadyLift 2.25" level kit with GY DuraTracs in a 265/70R17

This is the ReadyLift 2.25" level kit & ReadyLift 2" rear blocks with Nitto Trail Grapps in a 295/70R17

This is the ReadyLift 1.5" level kit with GY DuraTracs in a 265/70R17

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5