GM Truck Club Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Can anyone help me identify the year and model this is from. I have a swapped engine in my vehicle. It is a Chevy v8 tbi from somewhere between 95 and 2000 i believe. This is the coolant temperature switch off of the block. I want to replace it but cannot find the right replacement. Please help me out.

·
Registered
14,498 Posts
I can't help you with the year; but I see Teflon tape on the threads, the single wire sensors need ground to complete the circuit, and these sensors are grounded at the threads, the tape will insulate this ground.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is my first time removing it... So it is old tape from whoever installed it. So, just clean it up and leave the tape off of it?

·
Registered
14,498 Posts
I assume it isn't working, that's why you want to change it.
You can test it with an ohm meter, I see there is a resistance value of 27k on the side of it.

·
Registered
‘01 Silverado 2500HD 8.1/Allison 5sp xcab long bed
3,232 Posts
That’s from earlier than 1994. If I recall correctly, ‘93.

·
Super Moderator
3,391 Posts
That’s from earlier than 1994. If I recall correctly, ‘93.
Yep. Virtually any Chevy truck with a 305 or 350 from the late 70s to somewhere around 93 used this sensor to drive the temperature gauge in the dash. A 2-pin model was used in the intake to drive the TBI computer's temp signal.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Holy belinda, that thing looks like it came off the Titanic....
anyways, a coulpe of notes.
Looks like there is a (part?) number on it. Your GM parts guru would be interesed in that.
The temperature switches, and thermisters all look the same for the Turbofire V8s. Your granny's 72 307 Nova had a same looking switch.
What is the year of the engine it came out of, (amusing its an original part), what is the casting date code on the block flange? for reference.
Whats the ohmeter read?

As for teflon tape....